HomeSchoolsWilsonFirst Grade
Sylvia Estremera
Jody Bernice
Shana Foster

Sylvia Estremera

sylvia.estremera@lodi.k12.nj.us

Jody Bernice

jody.bernice@lodi.k12.nj.us

Shana Foster

shana.foster@lodi.k12.nj.us

First Grade is an exciting time for students and is also a big transitional year. Students are happy to have their own desk and be more independent. It is a time to master short and long vowel sounds and to enhance word attack skills as well as comprehension. Students learn 37 blends and digraphs and 52 variant sounds. It is important to foster a love of reading, and students should be encouraged to read for enjoyment. The development of writing skills is also very crucial. The students learn to use inventive spelling and creativity when writing using the Writing City program. In this program students form various writing pieces such as Narratives, Informative/Explanatory, Opinion, and Research. In mathematics students master addition and subtraction facts to twenty and touch upon regrouping. We also work on problem solving skills using many open ended questions. This year we will be starting a new program in math called Only the Numbers Count which will enhance the students' understanding of numbers and operations in base ten. First grade is an important grade level and is the basis of a child's education which gives them their love for learning!

 

Upcoming Dates

Nov
2

Tuesday, November 02

Nov
4

Thursday, November 04 - Friday, November 05

Nov
24

Wednesday, November 24

Nov
25

Thursday, November 25 - Friday, November 26

Dec
23

Thursday, December 23

Dec
24

Friday, December 24 - Sunday, January 02

Jan
17

Monday, January 17

Feb
21

Monday, February 21 - Friday, February 25

Apr
15

Friday, April 15 - Friday, April 22

May
30

Monday, May 30