HomeSchoolsWashingtonSecond Grade
Catherine Tronza
Jacquelyn Herzog
Susan Catalano

Catherine Tronza

catherine.tronza@lodi.k12.nj.us

Jacquelyn Herzog

jackie.herzog@lodi.k12.nj.us

Susan Catalano

susan.catalano@lodi.k12.nj.us

Dana Breitwieser
Carmela LaFranca

Dana Breitwieser

dana.breitwieser@lodi.k12.nj.us

Carmela LaFranca

carmela.lafranca@lodi.k12.nj.us

Second Grade is a continuation of building up the skills necessary for future success in Reading and Math! In Reading, we focus on comprehension skills, fluency, and creating an extensive vocabulary to use in their Reading and Writing. Writing is enhanced through the introduction of using figurative language such as adjectives, similes, and onomatopoeia.  In Math, students focus on the repetitive memorization of their addition and subtraction Math Facts. Using Math Facts, students are able to build upon what they know to successfully regroup both adding and subtracting two and three-digit numbers. Geometry, length, money and time are also extended into their every day knowledge. Students end the year by being exposed to the concept of multiplication. Our Science curriculum includes units on Space, Animals, Dinosaurs, and Plants. In Social Studies, we focus mainly on Communities, Maps, Geography, and Citizenship. Along with academics, we also have activities planned such as our Annual Thanksgiving Feast and our Annual Mother’s Day Tea. Second Grade is sure to be challenging, but rewarding!

 

Upcoming Dates

Sep
5

Wednesday, September 05

Oct
5

Friday, October 05

Nov
6

Tuesday, November 06

Nov
8

Thursday, November 08 - Friday, November 09

Nov
21

Wednesday, November 21

Nov
22

Thursday, November 22 - Friday, November 23

Dec
21

Friday, December 21

Dec
24

Monday, December 24 - Tuesday, January 01

Jan
21

Monday, January 21

Feb
18

Monday, February 18 - Friday, February 22

Second Grade News