HomeSchoolsWashingtonSecond Grade
Catherine Tronza
Jacquelyn Herzog
Susan Catalano

Catherine Tronza

catherine.tronza@lodi.k12.nj.us

Jacquelyn Herzog

jackie.herzog@lodi.k12.nj.us

Susan Catalano

susan.catalano@lodi.k12.nj.us

Dana Breitwieser
Carmela LaFranca

Dana Breitwieser

dana.breitwieser@lodi.k12.nj.us

Carmela LaFranca

carmela.lafranca@lodi.k12.nj.us

Second Grade is a continuation of building up the skills necessary for future success in Reading and Math! In Reading, we focus on comprehension skills, fluency, and creating an extensive vocabulary to use in their Reading and Writing. Writing is enhanced through the introduction of using figurative language such as adjectives, similes, and onomatopoeia.  In Math, students focus on the repetitive memorization of their addition and subtraction Math Facts. Using Math Facts, students are able to build upon what they know to successfully regroup both adding and subtracting two and three-digit numbers. Geometry, length, money and time are also extended into their every day knowledge. Students end the year by being exposed to the concept of multiplication. Our Science curriculum includes units on Space, Animals, Dinosaurs, and Plants. In Social Studies, we focus mainly on Communities, Maps, Geography, and Citizenship. Along with academics, we also have activities planned such as our Annual Thanksgiving Feast and our Annual Mother’s Day Tea. Second Grade is sure to be challenging, but rewarding!

 

Upcoming Dates

Sep
5

Tuesday, September 05

Oct
6

Friday, October 06

Nov
7

Tuesday, November 07

Nov
9

Thursday, November 09 - Friday, November 10

Nov
22

Wednesday, November 22

Nov
23

Thursday, November 23 - Friday, November 24

Dec
22

Friday, December 22

Dec
25

Monday, December 25 - Monday, January 01

Jan
15

Monday, January 15

Feb
19

Monday, February 19 - Friday, February 23

Second Grade News