HomeSchoolsWashingtonFirst Grade
Lisa Varrecchia
Melissa Fuentes

Lisa Varrecchia

lisa.varrecchia@lodi.k12.nj.us

Melissa Fuentes

melissa.fuentes@lodi.k12.nj.us

Catherine Tronza
Carmela LaFranca

Catherine Tronza

catherine.tronza@lodi.k12.nj.us

Carmela LaFranca

carmela.lafranca@lodi.k12.nj.us

In First Grade, students are taught the fundamentals for decoding words and reading.  Students are taught initial consonant sounds, vowels and blends.  Students expand their sight words and vocabulary through drill and practice as well as spelling.  By the end of First Grade, students leave knowing how to read stories, answer comprehension questions, and write one to two paragraphs using picture prompts and topic starters.  First grade is the foundation for learning-just like building a house.

 

Upcoming Dates

Nov
2

Tuesday, November 02

Nov
4

Thursday, November 04 - Friday, November 05

Nov
24

Wednesday, November 24

Nov
25

Thursday, November 25 - Friday, November 26

Dec
23

Thursday, December 23

Dec
24

Friday, December 24 - Sunday, January 02

Jan
17

Monday, January 17

Feb
21

Monday, February 21 - Friday, February 25

Apr
15

Friday, April 15 - Friday, April 22

May
30

Monday, May 30

First Grade News

Please click here to see the First Grade supply list for the upcoming school year.