HomeSchoolsHilltopFirst Grade
Dulcy Gomez
Nikki Licata
Erika Cruz

Dulcy Gomez

dulcy.gomez@lodi.k12.nj.us

Nikki Licata

nikki.licata@lodi.k12.nj.us

Erika Cruz

erika.cruz@lodi.k12.nj.us

First grade is an exciting and rewarding year. The students will learn the basics that will form the foundation that they will build on throughout their educational careers. They will learn how to identify and manipulate sounds to read and write words. The students will spend a lot of time working on their reading fluency and comprehension skills. Another important aspect the students will be learning throughout the year is how to use various English skills. They will work on writing complete sentences to convey their thoughts and ideas. The students will focus on learning various parts of speech to enhance their writing, using proper grammar, adding capital letters and punctuation marks to their writing, and adding in details to make their writing more interesting.

In addition to this, the students will learn how numbers work by practicing their counting skills, by ordering numbers, and by comparing and contrasting them. They will also learn how to add and subtract and how these concepts are related. First graders also study Science and Social Studies concepts such as animal life cycles, habitats, plants, matter and mass, and how to be a good citizen within their school and community. First grade is a wonderful year full of learning and fun!

 

Upcoming Dates

Sep
5

Tuesday, September 05

Oct
6

Friday, October 06

Nov
7

Tuesday, November 07

Nov
9

Thursday, November 09 - Friday, November 10

Nov
22

Wednesday, November 22

Nov
23

Thursday, November 23 - Friday, November 24

Dec
22

Friday, December 22

Dec
25

Monday, December 25 - Monday, January 01

Jan
15

Monday, January 15

Feb
19

Monday, February 19 - Friday, February 23

First Grade News