HomeSchoolsHilltopFifth Grade
Jenna Milik
Frank Russo
Nicole Lucchesi

Jenna Milik

jenna.milik@lodi.k12.nj.us

Frank Russo

frank.russo@lodi.k12.nj.us

Nicole Lucchesi

nicole.lucchesi@lodi.k12.nj.us

Jenna Thorne
Mary Barone

Jenna Thorne

jenna.thorne@lodi.k12.nj.us

Mary Barone

mary.barone@lodi.k12.nj.us

In 5th grade the mathematics curriculum follows the sequence provided by the web-based Study Island program. This program is supplemental to the text and workbook. In 5th grade it is important that students demonstrate understanding of numerical operations, geometry and measurement, patterns and algebra, and discrete mathematics. Study Island is designed around the New Jersey Common Core Standards to help prepare our students for the NJ ASK test which is taken in 5th grade.

Our Language Arts series encompasses Reading, Grammar, and Spelling. It is aligned with the NJCCCS. Through a variety of teaching techniques, students develop the skills necessary to analyze text, edit writing, and decode words.

The Social Studies curriculum takes students on a journey through early American history beginning with the explorers and continuing with the events and people that have shaped this great democracy.
Our Science curriculum provides students with the materials and resources to build on their previous knowledge of Life Sciences. Students are given the skills to use in order to become independent and critical thinkers. They learn to use the Scientific Method to form hypotheses during labs, experiments, and other exploratory activities.

Technology is a very important part of 5th grade. At Hilltop School students make use of Hilltop’s state-of-the-art technology, such as utilizing in- class SMART boards, multi-media workstations, laptops, and our computer lab. Students use Study Island to reinforce learned Language Arts and Math concepts.

Writing has become its own subject. Hilltop School has implemented a new writing program called Lucy Caulkins. It is a comprehensive curriculum that teaches students strategies to become effective writers. In class students launch writing workshops, learn to write captivating stories, and develop lifelong skills to become confident writers.

 

Fifth Grade News

Please click here to see the Fifth Grade supply list for the upcoming school year.

Please click here to see Mrs. Costa's supply list for the upcoming school year.

Upcoming Dates

Sep
7

Tuesday, September 07

Nov
2

Tuesday, November 02

Nov
4

Thursday, November 04 - Friday, November 05

Nov
24

Wednesday, November 24

Nov
25

Thursday, November 25 - Friday, November 26

Dec
23

Thursday, December 23

Dec
24

Friday, December 24 - Sunday, January 02

Jan
17

Monday, January 17 - Thursday, January 27

Feb
21

Monday, February 21 - Friday, February 25

Apr
15

Friday, April 15 - Friday, April 22