HomeSchoolsColumbusKindergarten
Jessica Bigos
Lisa Costa

Jessica Bigos

jessica.bigos@lodi.k12.nj.us

Lisa Costa

lisa.costa@lodi.k12.nj.us

Kindergarten is filled with fun-filled activites throughout the entire school eyar.  Here are some of the topics and activities we complete as the year progresses.

September

  • Getting to know you theme
  • Study of apples (Johnny Appleseed)
  • Fall

October

  • Fall and pumpkin study
  • Fire safety and prevention study
  • Halloween party and parade
  • Study of leaves

November

  • Election Day and voting
  • Pilgrims and Indians
  • Thanksgiving Feast

December

  • Study of different holidays
  • Holiday party
  • Study of Winter

January

  • Study of Polar Animals
  • Martin Luther Kind Jr.
    (study of cooperation and friendship)

February

  • Dental Health month
  • Study of Presidents
  • Valentine's Day Party
  • Groundhog's Day
  • Black History Month

March

  • Study of Spring
  • St. Patrick's Day (Green Day treat)
  • Read Across America
  • Nutrition Month

April

  • Growing theme (living and non-living)
  • Easter and Spring celebration
  • Study of flowers

May

  • Study of bugs and butterflies
  • Memorial Day
  • Field Day
  • Class trip (Children's Museum)

June

  • Study of Summer
  • Graducation Program
  • Ocean theme
  • Beach Party

 

In addition, the children learn a new letter of the alphabet each week.  They learn to read words by sight and by blending letter sounds.  They also enjoy learning to count to 100, make patterns, tell time, add and subtract.  The Kindergarten children are immersed in a hands-on learning experience that is fun, challenging, and stimulating.

 

Columbus School Resources

Kindergarten News

Please click here to see the Kindergarten supply list for the upcoming school year.

 

Upcoming Dates

Nov
27

Wednesday, November 27

Nov
28

Thursday, November 28 - Friday, November 29

Dec
20

Friday, December 20

Dec
23

Monday, December 23 - Wednesday, January 01

Jan
20

Monday, January 20

Feb
17

Monday, February 17 - Friday, February 21

Apr
10

Friday, April 10

Apr
13

Monday, April 13 - Friday, April 17

May
25

Monday, May 25

Jun
2

Tuesday, June 02